Tech Tools for the Everyday Teacher

Gimpy

The last two years I have taught a media club for my students after school.  I always start with Gimp.  Gimp has so many incredible capabilities.  Funny enough – I grew up using Gimp – so when I wanted to start this media club I knew immediately that this was the software I needed.  GIMP is open-sourced – which means it is free and everyone in the world can use it.

There are a number of things you can do on GIMP:

  • Edit pictures
  • Create pictures
  • Design signs or word art
  • Personal Favorite: Create animations – because GIMP has layers – I have found this to capture student interest.

You can access GIMP by clicking here.

Unfortunately GIMP is not web-based – which means that you would have to talk to your district about getting it installed on the computers.  It’s not large software though – and it is open-source.  This is great because students can practice the skills they learn at home.

Comments are closed.