Tech Tools for the Everyday Teacher

Assessment

As a teacher it is so important to remember to always make it clear to the students what is being assessed.  Some assignments may be completion grades, but many might require rubrics.  One excellent rubric website I have used for the last 4 years is Rubistar.

  • Rubistar is great because it creates templates for whatever subject or activity you are assessing.
  • There are also numerous pre-created rubrics constructed by teachers who have used the website.
  • The templates are really easy to edit and print, which makes them flexible and accessible to all.

One routine I make in my class is to project rubistar on the wall – and with my class, have them help me create a rubric on what they think should be assessed.  We have found that student-generated rubrics allow for the students to own their work, as well as work harder.

Comments are closed.