Tech Tools for the Everyday Teacher

Playing with animals

I’m not sure it matters what age you are, Switcheroo Zoo is a fun website for you.  My students used it this year to understand animals and their habitats better.  Really, the best part of Switcheroo Zoo is creating animals that are conglomerations of a bunch of different animals.  At the end, after you have put together your creation, the website will tell you what type of habitat is necessary for that creature.  It’s amazing how creative the students get with their creations.  Switcheroo Zoo has movie clips about animals and their habitats, it has lessons that can assist you on an animal unit, and it has it’s creation center.

As an educator I am always looking for websites I can get my kids excited about so they can use them at home.  I’m sick of students going home and playing first-person shooter games, or games with very limited or no educational value.  Icivics was an incredible find – I still have students playing those games at home – but here is another one that many of my students enjoyed going back to.

Leave a Reply

